Welcome

In the News

Statement by the Public Prosecution Service of Canada Regarding Allegations Relating to Prosecutors’ Conduct

Ottawa – July 6, 2018 – The Public Prosecution Service of Canada (PPSC) is aware of allegations relating to the conduct of some prosecutors in its Ontario Regional Office (ORO). These allegations were made by counsel for Ms. Leora Shemesh in the context of a recent abuse of process application.

The PPSC takes these allegations extremely seriously. The PPSC has launched a review of events in the ORO, which will be conducted by Mr. Robert Prior, an experienced former prosecutor and retired Chief Federal Prosecutor of the PPSC’s British Columbia Regional Office. Mr. Prior will report on his findings directly to the Deputy Director of Public Prosecutions.

The Public Prosecution Service of Canada is a national organization responsible for prosecuting offences under federal jurisdiction in a manner that is free of any improper influence and that respects the public interest. The PPSC is also responsible for providing prosecution-related advice to law enforcement agencies across Canada.

More...

Sentence in Hostage-Taking Trial

Ottawa – June 18, 2018 – Today in Ontario Superior Court, Ali Omar Ader, 40, was sentenced to 15 years imprisonment for taking Amanda Lindhout hostage, in the country of Somalia, contrary to s. 279.1(2) of the Criminal Code.

He was arrested and charged on June 11, 2015, following a lengthy RCMP investigation which involved luring him to Canada. He has been in custody since his arrest.

Throughout much of Ms. Lindhout’s captivity from August 23, 2008 to November 25, 2009, Mr. Ader was responsible for communicating ransom demands and conducting negotiations for the hostage-takers.

The Public Prosecution Service of Canada is responsible for prosecuting offences under federal jurisdiction in a manner that is free of any improper influence and that respects the public interest. The PPSC is also responsible for providing prosecution-related advice to law enforcement agencies across Canada.

More...

Commissioner of Canada Elections

Public Prosecution Service of Canada Deskbook

Public Prosecution Service of Canada Deskbook

More »

Public Prosecution Service of Canada Annual Report 2016-2017

Public Prosecution Service of Canada Annual Report 2016-2017

More »

Date modified:

Bienvenue

Dans les nouvelles

Déclaration du Service des poursuites pénales du Canada relativement aux allégations concernant la conduite de certains procureurs

Ottawa – Le 6 juillet 2018 – Le Service des poursuites pénales du Canada (SPPC) est au fait des allégations concernant la conduite de certains procureurs du Bureau régional de l’Ontario (BRO). Ces allégations proviennent de l’avocate de Mme Leora Shemesh dans le contexte d’une demande récente d’abus de procédure.

Le SPPC prend ces allégations très au sérieux et a entrepris un examen des évènements dans le BRO qui sera effectué par M. Robert Prior, ancien procureur expérimenté et procureur fédéral en chef à la retraite du bureau régional de la Colombie-Britannique du SPPC. Monsieur Prior rendra compte de ses conclusions directement au directeur adjoint des poursuites pénales.

Le Service des poursuites pénales du Canada est une organisation nationale chargé d'intenter des poursuites relatives aux infractions relevant de la compétence fédérale, sans influence indue et dans le respect de l’intérêt public. Le SPPC est aussi responsable de conseiller les organismes chargés de l'application de la loi à l'égard des poursuites au Canada.

Plus...

Condamnation dans un procès en matière de prise d’otage

Ottawa – Le 18 juin 2018 – Aujourd’hui, à la Cour supérieure de l’Ontario Ali Omar Ader, 40 ans, a été condamné à 15 ans d’emprisonnement pour avoir pris Amanda Lindhout en otage en Somalie, contrairement à l’art. 279.1(2) du Code criminel.

Ali Omar Ader a été arrêté et accusé le 11 juin 2015, à la suite d’une longue enquête menée par la GRC, dans le cadre de laquelle il a été attiré au Canada. Il est en détention depuis son arrestation.

Monsieur Ader était chargé de communiquer les demandes de rançon et de mener des négociations au nom des ravisseurs pendant la majeure partie de la captivité de Mme Lindhout, soit du 23 août 2008 au 25 novembre 2009.

Le Service des poursuites pénales du Canada est chargé d’intenter les poursuites relatives aux infractions relevant de la compétence fédérale, sans influence indue et dans le respect de l’intérêt public. Le SPPC est aussi responsable de fournir des conseils en matière de poursuites aux organismes chargés de l’application de la loi partout au Canada.

Plus...

Commissaire aux élections fédérales

Guide du Service des poursuites pénales du Canada

Guide du Service des poursuites pénales du Canada

Suite »

Service des poursuites pénales du Canada - Rapport annuel 2016-2017

Service des poursuites pénales du Canada - Rapport annuel 2016-2017

Suite »

Date de modification :